1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Dual Batteries

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by emeraldgreen, Dec 2, 2004.

1. emeraldgreen

emeraldgreen Member

I have seen some discussion lately about running 2 batteries. Although I have plowed for many years at the golf course where I worked, this is my first year plowing for myself. I am wondering what is the benefit of using dual batteries, and do I need them to run my plow, spreader control, and aux back-up lights?
    Thanks for your input.

Bob

2. TLS

TLS PlowSite.com Addict

I wouln't say you NEED one, but the reserve capacity is doubled when you have them hooked direct. Truck starts quicker in the deep freeze, lights don't dim as much when you hit the plow.

If your thinking about replacing a SINGLE battery this fall/winter, seriously consider switching to directly connected duals. Aux battery trays are available for almost all big 3 trucks. And all you'll need is a few lengths of heavy gauge wire and some nice ends crimped on. You want both batteries to be purchased at the same time and be of the same size (group).

3. Tarkus

Tarkus PlowSite.com Addict

Though not a bad idea not a must do, You just do not want to mix maintance free with non maintain free (not really a issu though since most are maintance free these days) because maintainance free have slightly higher charge voltage. I am fixin to replace a set now that is over 5 years old (still works) and they are not matched either.

4. TLS

TLS PlowSite.com Addict

If your buying 2 at the same time, you'd be dumb not to match them. :rolleyes:

5. Tarkus