1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

dual alt and batt setup

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by krazybob738, Jan 14, 2014.

1. krazybob738

krazybob738 Junior Member
    from chicago

Hello all i am new here and my name is bob:D

My truck is a 99 silverado with the 5.3L 4x4

Ok here is what i am doing!:mechanic:

I am new to plowing i bought all my stuff off of craigslist and home fabbed some stuff i was thinking of running dual batts along with dual alts (one alt per batt) and replacing all my factory cables with 4/0 cable as thats what i have on hand and doing the alt cables with 0 guage wire.

I would like to run my plow off of the aux batt & alt with nothing else on that batt just plow i think that should be enough but not sure any suggestions?

2. Antlerart06

Antlerart06 PlowSite Veteran

I know guy did this but he looks like Christmas tree and run a plow rear blade and w 12v spreader

If you running just a plow I think you might be wasting money doing 2 batt and 2 alt
  3. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

the only thing youd be gaining is a few more amps off the aux alt and batt. but if you added an aux batt and a high output alt youd be fine without all the headaches of trying to fab up the 2nd alt.
  4. krazybob738

from chicago

Good morning

Ok here is a little back story and my thinking!

I bought an 89 f350ing off craigslist last year after using it a couple times the truck started on fire.

So i have this this thing sitting in my driveway all burned up so i figured why not put this setup on my silverado.