1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Driveways

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Scott Fortin, Aug 31, 2003.

1. Scott Fortin

Scott Fortin Junior Member

Guys,

I've been plowing commercials for a couple years now, doing my drive and my folks only. My partner and I are looking to make the shift this season to more drives, but I wanted to see some opinions on price, if you've been burned on payment, seasonal vs. per push, getting new customers, those sort of things. Do you have any advice as we venture into this since my experience is all commercial to this point? We'd like to make some payup to go along with all the white stuff we hope for this year! Thanks!

Scott

'91 Bronco
    7 1/2' Western Pro Plow

2. wyldman

wyldman Member

If your already doing commercial,why would you want to go residential ? Commercial is much more profitable,and less headaches.

Not trying to rain on your parade,just curious as to why you want residential.

3. szorno

szorno Senior Member

we are also looking at going into residential. (28 years of almost only commercial) We have about 5 residences now, but the market is crying for some dependability and quality. Mostly the upscale neighborhoods. I am thinking of building a Jeep Wrangler and putting my 19 yr old son in it. He has 3 years of experience. I know that getting customers close together is important. What other suggestions do some of you guys have? :confused:

4. wyldman

wyldman Member

Well,I guess if your going after the high end residential stuff,it would be worthwhile.

Any suggestions ?? Don't lowball or try to match what the other guys are doing it for.You won't find it's worth your while.