1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

driveways vs time?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by MtlMan, Sep 8, 2005.

1. MtlMan

MtlMan Junior Member

First a little about me: I live in Montreal/quebec/canada, I'm 24 and I have very little experience in commercial plowing. When I was in high school I used to plow with a snoblower about 5 driveways in my street and the year after my high school I plowed part time(when other guys were sick) with a gmc 2500 4x4 and it was in the country.

Some of my friends have been plowing for this big company for years, they use big tractors but each guy gets from 140 to 170 driveways.:eek: Ok the driveways are all in the same area and they are regualr simple and double driveways but I've seen some of these guys work up to 30 hours strait!

Often they work 15-20hours

Now I'm wondering how many driveways should someone take with a tractor or a 3/4 tons pick up to make sure they don't work over 12h strait unless it's the storm of the century.

2. TriCountySnow

TriCountySnow Member

with a tractor i would say about 5- 10 unless you are really brave and want to freeze your u know whats off.

truck you could probably do about 50 - 60 small and medium size drives.

All comes down to how good you are with plow.

3. Kirby ent

Kirby ent Member

Are you saying a truck is 6 times faster! WOW I was about to buy a tractor this week to replace my slow skidsteer. BTW we have no where to push the snow so truck is out!

4. Grn Mtn

Grn Mtn PlowSite.com Addict

60 drives in under 10 hours easy

Bonjour,