1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Don't want to buy a lemon

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by JR. Snowplow, Oct 30, 2006.

1. JR. Snowplow

JR. Snowplow Junior Member
    from Ontario

Hey guys, i'm new to the snowplowing business, so a little help with two Q: would start my season of well. I'm looking at 1997 Dodge Ram 2500 tomorrow, it has been used as a plow truck for the last 5 years, from what he's have told me, its been maintained regularly. It has 220 000 km on it, and the tranny has been replaced once. He also told me there's a homing sound that comes from the Differenchial, but not to worry, it's been making that noise since day 1. Something to do with shimming in the rear end, he said he can make the sound go away but the rear end won't last then, could this be true. My main question is what are the most important things i should be looking for when i have it over tomorrow, i do have access to a hoist.
    Thanks Brad
  2. Banksy

Banksy PlowSite Veteran