1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Don't Want to Be the LOWBALLER!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by zwhit81, Jan 21, 2014.

1. zwhit81

zwhit81 Junior Member
    from Indiana

I have ran a part time lawncare business for over 15years. I have never got into the plowing business because I have not had a vehicile that would push snow. Now I am looking at purchasing a F250 and am now cosidering running a part time snow removal business. (I am a teacher so during most snow events we are closed anyway.)

As to the thread topic: I have seen the lowballers in the lawn care business aroud here come and go. I don't want to be a lowballer so could someone give examples of prices? (I know all markets vary/just looking for a ball park.)

Examples:
    Lot size and amount of snow?
    Also what do you charge for spreading salt?

2. jrs.landscaping

jrs.landscaping Senior Member
    from Maine

100 an hour

150 per ton $70 minimum

3. zwhit81

zwhit81 Junior Member
    from Indiana

Thanks. Do you know of anywhere I can get an estimate on how much salt a particular size lot will take? I know it depends on how much you put down but what is an average?

4. Greenstar lawn

Greenstar lawn Senior Member

Here in Michigan a straight blade will get ya $65-70 an hr where a v blade will fetch ya around $80 an hr. $150 a ton for salt

5. jrs.landscaping

from Maine

Use search, there are a bunch of threads. I think it was around 15 lbs per thousand? It really depends on conditions though.

6. Herm Witte

Herm Witte Senior Member