1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Does an amber roof strobe scratch paint

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by TJDMAX, Oct 3, 2005.

TJDMAX Junior Member

I'm new to plowing. I was looking for a good price on a magnetic mount rotating amber roof light. Do they scratch the roof paint? I only plan on doing about four driveways.
  2. PremierLand

PremierLand PlowSite.com Addict
    from detroit

i had one on my old ford, and yes it strached the roof paint. I am mounting mine on my backrack when I get it.
  3. bigjoe871

bigjoe871 Senior Member

Go to a sign shop and get a piece of magnetic backing as big as the whole light. Put a heavy coat of wax on the area and lay that piece of magnetic on there for a few days before putting the light on. Wont scratch the paint and light still comes on and off for the car wash.
  4. Metro Lawn

Metro Lawn PlowSite.com Addict

We own a towing business as well. We have this problem with the magnetic "tow lights" we have to use on towed vehicles. We simply put a sheet of paper down first and set the light on top of it. It keeps the light from scratching without losing it's grip, and you can just throw it away when done.
  5. Winter Land Man

Winter Land Man Senior Member

The last light I bought has a material on the bottom, like cotton or something, to prevent it from scratching. I've left the light on the truck for over a year and not one scratch, even if I slide it across the roof!
  6. CamLand

CamLand Senior Member

What I've used is duct tape around the magnets never a problem...
  7. SnowGuy73

SnowGuy73 PlowSite Fanatic