1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

do you take a risk or wait

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by disantolandscap, Sep 25, 2011.

1. disantolandscap

disantolandscap Junior Member
    from maine

ok so im new to landscaping and snowplowing kind of. Mostly new to snowplowing. My question is I dont have a plow for my truck yet, but i can get one installed for 3000.00. Now im in the process of trying to get my grandparents to co sign a loan for me to get this plow. Would you take the chance and go looking for contracts now even with out a plow and hope that some of the accounts pay you up front using the contract or would you wait and not bother this year and save up to buy one in the spring with the mowing money? I really want to make this work and get out of my full time job where i only make 300 a week. thanks for the advice.

2. bradlewislawnca

bradlewislawnca Member

according to your posts in lawn site and here.. be careful. take residentials with a snowblower. you'll make more money after costs. blower costs $500-$1500 and you won't destroy your truck. you can get $500--$1000 on most seasonal residentials so it doesn't take much.

3. disantolandscap

from maine

yes i have a brand new snowblower and the neighbor hood i live in has about 400 driveways but i want some commercial work as well, so i didnt know if i should take the chance and bid and if it comes down to it, sub out the plowing, because i have a clause for that in my contract.

4. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic