1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Do you have a welder?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by drivewaydoctor, Jan 14, 2009.

1. I'm wondering how many of you guys have a welder in your shop incase of frame problems? I'm considering making the investment into a MIG Welder but I have not decided if I should since I have no mig experience. Did some spot welding years ago but nothing I'd consider experience. (body shop class)

So, do any of you consider it a valuable tool to have as a "just in case" tool?

2. BSDeality

BSDeality Senior Member

It's one of the most important tools in the shop.

We have a Lincoln Mig 175. its 220v and welds up to about 1/4" plate OK. any heavier and we bust out the old Lincoln Tombstone stick welder.

3. Dirtboy953B

Dirtboy953B Senior Member

I don't know if I could live with out my welders,diffinataly worth having.I've got a miller 250 mig in the shop.lincoln ranger stick/generator and miller suitcase mig on my my work truck

4. russ130

russ130 Senior Member

Yeah mig or wire fed welders are great for repairs on the lighter stuff like mold boards, body panels really anything up to about 1/4". For the heavier jobs you gotta go with stick welder for a good penetration. Wire feed welders are easy to use, so easy anyone can weld fairly descent even without practice. Stick is a lot harder but with practice gets easy. Either way a clean surface and good ground are imperative then just draw little overlapping ovals. That will get you a passable weld the very first time you weld.

5. artic429

artic429 Senior Member