1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Do I really need ballast?

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by rswojo, Apr 11, 2013.

1. rswojo

rswojo Member

First a little background.

I have been plowing my driveways for years using a 1978 Ford F-150 equipped with a Meyer ST-90 plow which weighs about 790 lbs. This rig was purchased new by my father, who gave me a good deal on it in 1987. I have never used ballast, nor did he. I plow and then park it in the garage. If I have to drive it somewhere I remove the plow.

I just got a 2013 Silverado 1500 regular cab long box and I am considering a Boss-Sport Duty 7' 6'' or a Sno-Way Model 26 7" 6" plow for the Silverado. The Boss weighs 421 lbs. plus approximately 50 lbs. for the mount and specifies 182 lbs. of ballast. The Sno-Way weighs 471 lbs. and I assume the mount weighs about the same as the Boss. I haven't found any specs for ballast on the Sno-Way.

Would I have to dick around with ballast if I use it the same way as the old plow? The only driving would be the trip home from the dealer if either one performs as reliably as that old Weber which didn't require any service other than fluid changes, new hoses and a seal kit when it was 18 years old.

2. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

You can do without ballast, I wouldn't recommend it but it's your equipment. It's harder on your front tires, brakes, shocks, wheel bearings, steering components, ball joints, rear tires, etc., it will create under-steer and require you to run in 4X4 at all times when the plows mounted for reasonable traction but you don't HAVE to have it.

3. rswojo

rswojo Member