1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Do i buy a used plow maybe a Fisher or Meyer or a new Snowbear

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Plow Newb, Nov 11, 2008.

1. Plow Newb

Plow Newb Junior Member
    from Toronto

Newbie question as I am new to the plowing gig.. Any help would be appreciated greatly. Looking to do about 50 driveways...

For $2000 max, What would you guys rather use to go on a 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 Long Bed 4x4,

1). A brand new Snowbear which I've seen many automatic responses on them being crap, but alot of owners say they are impressed with them.

2). or A used fisher or Meyer.. Something like the one in the link below...

2. sechracer

sechracer Senior Member

Go with the used fisher or meyers, snow bear may be a good personal plow but it might not hold up good for 50 driveways if used alot.. I personally do not know since I have never owned one, but they arent really designed for commercial use.
  3. mercer_me

mercer_me PlowSite Fanatic

Get a used Fisher they will last forever. You shouldn't have any probablems with a Fisher.
  4. hero419

hero419 Member
    from nepa

I had a reply deleted, must have been because I listed prices.

I had bought a new Snowbear a couple of weeks ago substantially less then what you had mentioned. It looks as though it will do a good job on my own driveway, but I would not go into business with it. It has a label that says "not for commercial use".
  5. red07gsxr

red07gsxr Senior Member
    from meriden

x2 on the fisher:waving:
  6. Plow Newb

Plow Newb Junior Member
    from Toronto