1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Diomand plate alumium

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by earnies2, Mar 7, 2008.

1. earnies2

earnies2 Senior Member

Ok here is the problem . I just got a used utility body to replace my rusty one the problem is the new one has custom aluminum diomond plate on the top of the boxes, and on the inside of the bed.( on the sids and the floor on the bulk head and tailgate) it is a verry nice job all the seams are sealed,,,,the problem is i am a mechanic and i have no intensions of pollishing the aluminum.it is hasent been pollished since new and was sitting outside for 2 years and their is a 6" high watter mark in the body. I acid washed it most of it came out but now the alumium is dullish white....any susjestions would be great maby paint?spray in lining?rustolium? I'm not shure if any of these would work and what special prep i would need (sorry for the long thred):salute:

2. powerjoke

powerjoke PlowSite.com Addict

if you put a vent wheel on a buffer/grinder and use rouge (total cost of $20) it will polish up quite nicely and verry quickly

3. earnies2

earnies2 Senior Member

I know about polishing I polished all our asphalt tankers, I am a heavy equptment mechanic i am always puting tranys tires and loader buckets not to mention broken parts from the pavers and distrubiters in the back of my truck , so i dont think polish is the way to go..........

4. Crash935

Crash935 2000 Club Member

Just start using it as is, eventiually you will get stuff and grease back there that you will never even know it was there.

5. powerjoke

powerjoke PlowSite.com Addict