1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Difficult Custumers. Is it just ME?!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by gpservices, Feb 26, 2013.

1. gpservices

gpservices Junior Member
    from CT

Hello all, love this site finally sighned up. Ok so i still consider myself a rookie especially on the buisness ownership side of things. Ive been plowing for over 4 years and owning for 1. Anyway here in CT we just recovered from an insane blizzard with average snow fall totals around 30inches with rain mixed. AGGHHH what a mess. Anyway i have over 40 accounts i do myself 4 are commercial. Anyway for this much snow i just about doubled my prices but just a little less. Example $60 drive cost $110. Some long drives took me over 2 hours to do! As you can imagine with this much snow even with a plow guy people expected doing a little shoveling or blowing on their own like in front of garage doors etc... anway 95% of my customers were so happy they paid no ?'s asked and put smiley faces on the check. But 3 of my clients were pissed about the almost double prices and 2 dropped me and one hasnt got back to me. One due to saying i did a terrible job leaving snow in front of garage when rest of drive was 100% clear. One said i knocked down a small part of his stonewall that was completley buried by the snow and wants me to fix it and complained about a $55 bill for 3 feet of snow with 4 foot drifts cmoooon! All my accounts were plowed exactly 1 day after the storm which sounds bad but some town roads were unplowed for 2 days so compared not that bad plus it was a sunday so no one missed work. I guess what im asking is has anyone else dealt with this or am I just really that much of