1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

DIFFERENCE between snow plowing with silverado or suburban?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by jeffconnell12, Aug 11, 2010.

1. jeffconnell12

jeffconnell12 Junior Member

Hey guys heres the issue.. i am new to snow plowing and at the moment only own a 2004 civic coupe. However my parents have a 1998 suburban they have offered me (virtually free). However ive been told/read that plowing with a suburban is not the easiest or most practical vehicle. But isnt the silverado or sierra (my alternative) the exact same truck.. just with an empty bed rather seating?

My choices are sell my civic and buy a new 6-7000 dollar pick up for plowing, or keep my civic and use my parents suburban for free to plow (which will be about 10-20 residential driveways) where theres about 15 feet of snow fall annually (whistler BC). Thanks!

2. scottyknows50

scottyknows50 Member

trade the suburban for a truck:) you can't see near as well out of a suburban and you should probably think of getting a 3/4 ton truck anyway. did the '98 suburbans have the barn doors? another reason NOT to use it for plowing.

3. YardMedic

YardMedic PlowSite.com Addict

agreed with what Scotty said, but the suburban will definitely do some work for ya. A 2-door Tahoe was like a short wheelbase p/u as well, and I used it (but it also wasn't my first plow truck, so I was a little more versed at watching behind me). Free is great in this economy, so give it a little thought!

4. Q101ATFD

Q101ATFD Senior Member