1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Diesel or gas for plowing

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by peewee, Oct 28, 2001.

1. peewee

peewee Member

I am searching for a second truck to use as a plow/sander truck. I hope to get as close to three or more yards of sand/salt per load and I see more diesel trucks available than gas in one ton ( in my area of southern ontario) . I am a little afraid of diesel just because I have no experience with them. So my question would be is one better than another for this application, I know diesel is more expensive to purchase, and secondly, what sanding unit will hold this kind of capacity. Thanks alot.

2. GeoffD

GeoffD PlowSite.com Veteran

Ok

First you have to make two choice?

1. Do you want to run a truck that is not overloaded?

2. Do you mind running a truck that is overloaded and maybe unsafe.

If you answer to Number 1 is a yes. Then you need to pass on a 1 ton truck and move up to a 2 ton. Ie a Ford F 550, and if your going to get something that big, go with the Powerstroke Diesel, and the 488 rear end, which is a real heavy duty truck rear end. Not some pick up rear end on steroids.

If you plan on carrying 3 yards of sand or salt, then you payload is going to be too much for a 1 ton to be legal. Yes the truck will haul it, however it is way overloaded.

If you answer is Number 2, Then just go buy a 1 ton.

Gas or Diesel?