1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

diesel and oil mixture for anti-rusting problem??

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by snowcrazy, Nov 7, 2011.

1. snowcrazy

snowcrazy Senior Member
    from ohio

This may actually be a really dumb question but I heard a couple of veteran commercial snow plowers b-sing in a local mcdonalds the other day and boy was I being nosey listening to there conversation. LOL Beings Im still fairly new to the plowing world that is.

They were talking about taking and giving the undercarriage of there plow trucks a diesel/oil mixture bath before winter????? Heard them both say thats the only way to go. I know it may not be f-film but was just curious to get some opinions on this. I did an undercoating on my truck last year and it was scaling off pretty quickly on my undercarriage.

Appreciate any info even other rust preventatives.... Thanks very much Robin Wash Georgetown Ohio

2. White Gardens

White Gardens 2000 Club Member

Not a dumb question. Yes, guys I know around here would take used oil, thin it with diesel and spray the undercarriage with a small pump sprayer.

Never tried it myself though as I didn't want the mess.

Next year, when I get a bit of time in the spring, I'm hitting my undercarriage with rust converter and then going to use bed-liner to seal the frame up better. Supposedly guys have been getting good results with it.