1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Did I charge too much?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by 91dodge, Dec 23, 2010.

1. 91dodge

91dodge Junior Member
    from Utah

I am new to the industry and realize that my time and use of my equipment shouldn't be cheap nor should I low ball since I pride myself on performing quality work like the majority on this site.

Here's the situation a company calls me after a huge storm hits and lands 14 inches of snow, now their protocol in the past is to wait until its bad to have their lot plowed and when it snows 2 to 4 inches they drive on it and hope it melts which it usually does in a week or two. The lot is about 1 acre in size and is L shaped with obstacle's to plow around and also has a sidewalk that is about 6ft wide and 300 ft long. This is the first time I have plowed it and it took me about 1.5 hours to get it cleaned up because the snow was a little heavy, if plowed in a normal situation 6" say it would take about 20 min. to plow and 15 min to hit the walks. I charged them $200 for this push and would normally charge $100 but do to their lack of not wanting to contract with me and use the cheapest person available I felt that this was a fair price. Found out today he couldn't believe I gouged him for that much and now wonder if I was a little high on my price?
  2. bighornjd

bighornjd Senior Member

I would have done it for $25.