1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Detroit tru trac Installation

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by jh76, Nov 24, 2010.

1. jh76

jh76 Junior Member
    from usa

Hey everyone,
    I have been plowing for two years now with open diffs on my F-250 super duty, and no matter the ballast I would get the one wheel peel :( So instead of going through that this year I just bought and installed a detroit tru trac. Really easy!! Didn't even have to jack the truck, just slid the FF axles out measured the backlash (.042-.046 Yikes!) bought new bearings and races. Removed the ring gear from the old carrier, Installed and torqued the bolts with Red Locktite, Beat the bearings on the new carrier with a big socket and mini sledge. Reused the original carrier shims(there are only two), checked the backlash ( now it's .014" ..... perfect!!) and torqued the carrier caps down with red loctite. Really easy to do with a cheap harbor freight 0-1" dial indicator, stand and torque wrench.

For anyone thinking about doing this.... It's not as difficult as most think. And with a cheap dial indicator and stand it's much cheaper than paying anyone to do it. Note: you don't have to do anything with the pinion as long as you are reusing the original ring gear. I hope this takes the fear out of getting that tru trac installed :mechanic:
  2. mrv8outboard

mrv8outboard Senior Member

Having a locking rear diff is not what it's cracked up to be plowing. When one wheel slips you have the other holding you in place. When both spin you slide left and or right on any angled roadway.
  3. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

That's where a selectable locker really shines. :nod: