1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Dead VBox Salter

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by DodgeBlizzard, Jan 22, 2011.

1. DodgeBlizzard

DodgeBlizzard Senior Member

Blown motor on the vbox salter and looking for some advice on what would work best as a replacement. We currently have use a small T Tag dump for salting only. I have no experience with under tailgate spreaders but it seems to me that is the way to go as I wouldn't have to load and unload the spreader. Just unsure. And would it be best to get an electric or hydraulic setup? Any suggestions?

2. bigal426

bigal426 Junior Member

Since you already have the V box spreader, why not replace the engine? You can buy a Briggs for about $600 and a Honda for about $700 with fuel tanks, and electric starter. Should take about 3-4 hours even if bolts are rusty. I would recommend putting anti-seize on all bolts though,so you can remove them at a later date. Put a new chain or belt on at the same time.

3. DodgeBlizzard

I was quoted about 900 bucks for all parts involved. This particular salter has seemed to give me non stop problems and never seems to work when I need it to. Just not sure if I want to put the money into it. But then again, if I put a new motor and clutch and all that goes with it, it should run the way it's suppose to. It's kind of like a bad employee that I just want to get rid of and try another.

4. bigal426

bigal426 Junior Member