1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

De Icing Newbie

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by wints761, Mar 13, 2010.

1. wints761

wints761 Junior Member

Hello All,

I have been plowing residential for quite a few years but am bidding on a few smaller commercial properties this year. I am curious how salting works? What exactly do you use? Do customers typically expect salting or is it per request?

Thanks in advance!

Dave Winter
    Landscape Expressions, LLC
    Mpls, MN
  2. leon

leon Senior Member

Halite works when it contacts the
    snow and ice creating a chemical
    reaction which creates heat and
    begins to melt it.

The man made deicing chemicals
    that are used by themselves or mixed with
    Halite allow deicing at lower ambient
    temperatures increasing its effectiveness.

Deep mined Halite has a lot of salt dust below 30 mesh
    size that results from its transportation underground
    and to the point of use due to the type of high energy
    explosive used to extract it during the mining

I use sand but thats a choice I made and am very
    happy with it as it costs much less less to use and
    does no damage to shrubs and grass.

3. snobgone

snobgone Senior Member
    from CT

Salt "melts" and creates a brine solution that decreases the freeze point of water. If used as a pre-treatment, it helps keep the snow from binding to the surface of the pavement and helps you clean the lot quicker down to blocktop. It is most effective down to 18 degress, then becomes less and less effective as temperatures drop. Typical application rates can be as little as 650lbs per acre or less, depending on temps.