1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

De-icer clogging problem

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Shades2004, Jan 24, 2009.

1. Shades2004

Shades2004 Junior Member

I am new to liquid de-icing (just got everything delivered on 1/23/09). I purchased well brine from a local supplier at 26%. I attempted to pre-treat this morning to get some experience and found my screen kept clogging with a gritty yogurt like consistency mixture. I am bottom filling (filled) my tank from a 3000 gal storage tank. How can I avoid this I can not contact the supplier for help as they are closed on weekends. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

2. flykelley

flykelley 2000 Club Member

Hi Shades
    Did you buy your liquid from a guy downriver? I bought some from a friend and he is having the same problem. He has a 5000 gallon storage tank and is having the same issue. He is going to add a big filter to his storage tank to see if that helps. I would guess that you have a filter on your deicer?

Good Luck Mike

3. Shades2004

Shades2004 Junior Member

No, supplier in lapeer. I think the filter is a definite at this point.

4. Superior L & L

Superior L & L PlowSite Veteran
    from MI

First i would think a new supplier is in order. My supplier answers his phone most all the time. I called last night at 10:00pm thinking im going to leave him a message and he answered. He was on vacation this weekend and still answered!!! Told me i would have a delivery this weekend still.
    Second you need to get with someone that has a better product.

5. elite1msmith

elite1msmith 2000 Club Member
    from chicago

change your inlet/out let