1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Cutting edge help

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by checkm09, Jan 16, 2013.

1. checkm09

checkm09 Junior Member

I have a chevy 04 2500 hd crew short box with a brand new 2012 boss vxt 8'2" plow. I am new to the industry and after plowing our first minnesota storm this year I was not impressed with the cutting ability. I had a backdrag bar installed with locking wings. And both back dragging and forward cutting left quite a bit of snow on the pavement (.5"),which later turned into ice. Should i expect to cut down to the pavement without salt ? I did not install the unit because it was free with the new plow but can the angle at wich it was mounted affect its ability to cut ? I have checked the blade to see if it touches when it is at different angles and it is. I don't use shoes so that isn't the problem either. I tried scrapping multiple times and driving slow no such luck.Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated thanks !
  2. randomb0b123

randomb0b123 PlowSite.com Addict
    from america

did you try it in v scoop and straight?
  3. jasonv

jasonv PlowSite.com Addict
    from kannada

It depends on what you're plowing, how well packed it is. If its fresh powder over pavement that hasn't been driven on, then yeah, you'll cut right down to the pavement easy. I do a nice long gravel road, and what I look for, is to build up an ICE BASE. No matter how much you plow that ice base, even withOUT gravel shoes, you will never cut through to the gravel. Note that this is what I *WANT* for this type of road.

How hard it scrapes is often a function of how much force there is down on the edge.

Some suggestions;