1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Custom- Meyers Classic Mount on 2009 Silverado

Discussion in 'Equipment, Tools & Vehicle Pictures' started by Snoozeworm, Sep 30, 2013.

1. Snoozeworm

Snoozeworm Junior Member

Well, to give some background. I have been running a small scale snow removal business for the past 4 years using a yamaha grizzly 350 and a snow plow. It grew from doing 1 local restaurant to 5 commercial contracts and another 3 residential simply by word of mouth. I saw in my local newspaper a meyers 7.5 foot plow and a snowex spreader for $1100, so I made the purchase and there began the work.

I noticed as i was sanding it down for paint, it had a broken pivot pin. No problem, I'll just pound it out and replace. :help: 7 HOURS LATER they were replaced with GREASABLE pivot pins!

The mount came from a 94 Chevy 1500, and was about 1 inch too narrow to fit my frame. We used 1/2 inch steel bolted to the outside of the frame to drop down, essentially allowing the mount to fit "inside" the frame rather than over the outside. Grade 8 bolts + 1/2 inch steel allowed us to keep all the strength.

Wiring was all harnessed from the previous truck, everything went right in aside from the light's wiring harness, which i simply customized to a toggle switch that turns on both high and low beam lights at the flick of a switch. I just could not justify spending $150+ on a harness for my truck!

A special thanks to John at the "thepumpshop" for a fantastic rebuild of my E47 pump + some paint + msc replacement hoses and couplers from tractor supply lead to this!

[​IMG]

2. mercer_me

mercer_me PlowSite Fanatic