1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Curvy long drives.

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Sno, Jan 12, 2002.

1. Sno

Sno Senior Member

Ok guys, newbie here!

I have just gotten one of those Doctor type drives.

The long, curvy, pristeene (sp) black top drives with manicured lawn.

Problem... Looks like I'll be doing it at night tonight.

How do you guys make sure you find the blacktop with the plow instead of the lawn?

And do you use the snow shoes and where do you set them if you do?

I pushed it once but could see the edges, might not have that luck tonight.

Thought about hand shoveling or walking the entire perimiter but thought Id ask for any better ways, less time consuming.

Dont want to look too much like a rookie.

Its about a 1/4 mile run, three curves.

Any help?

2. CT18fireman

CT18fireman Banned

It may be too late to do it now because the ground will be frozen, but we usually use long wooden stakes painted orange at the top to mark drives. We pound them in during the fall cleanups and then are set for winter. This is effective on curvy drives although you still may pick up a little of the edge once in awhile.

3. Santa

Santa Junior Member

Take a large steel tent stake or pry bar,roughly the same diameter as your snow stake, and pound it into the ground with a sledge hammer.Then remove it and pound in your snow stake.

This won't be easy but it can be done.

D.L.

4. Pelican

Pelican 2000 Club Member