1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Curious-- As to how you come up with a price?

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by TatraFan, Oct 31, 2011.

1. TatraFan

TatraFan Senior Member

I'm not a snowplow professional nor do I want to be one. I'm actually a big truck Enthusiasts and especially if they can be used off road. So I found this sight looking for information on putting a snow plow on my new toy a Tatra T815 8x8 truck ex military spec. It has a dozer type blade on it and I wanted to expand my fun to the winter as well. So I normally live in NYC, but, I just purchased a new second home in a small town in the Catskill Mountains near my home town. I got a great deal on a 350 acre farm (can you say play time with my new toy). So I have this driveway it is L shaped and it has rise of about 8% then flattens out and dips down another 8% or so and then you reach my house. I have a car park and turn around making the L shape of this drive way. 500 feet on the long leg and the turn around car park area adds another 80x40 feet roughly. So it is rather big.

So I'm sort of curious what would charge for this type of drive way. In the town we get about 70 inches of snow annually I would guess. This is a secondary residence for me so I need to have it plowed by another person while I'm in NYC or out of the country on business. And I just realized that living in the city for the past 18 years I have no clue what a reasonable estimate would be for this service.

Any help you can give would be great.

2. fast*st

fast*st Junior Member