1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Critique my setup!

Discussion in 'Jeeps' started by dingo151, Sep 14, 2008.

1. dingo151

dingo151 Junior Member
    from Idaho

Hey everybody!

I'm building up a Wrangler to do small lots and driveways around town. Can you guys give me a heads up as to what's not going to work. I'm a newbie so it's kind of a shot in the dark.

Starting with a 91 Wrangler with a 4.0 and a 5 speed.
    Dana 30 in the front with air locker 4:56 gears
    Dana 35 in the rear with air locker and full floater kit 4:56 gears
    Pro comp coil suspension kit (basicly like a TJ)
    33" tires
    Western 7.5 plow - Straight blade

I'll have to build a mount because they don't make a mounting kit but that shouldn't be too hard. Ideas, problems?

Thanks
    Dean

2. festerw

festerw Senior Member

With 33's, gearing, lockers and all the weight from the plow/ballast I'd be concerned about snapping axle shafts. The Dana 30/35 aren't known for their strength.

If it were me, new heavy duty leafs front and rear, some 235/75/15's put the plow on and call it a day.

3. bribrius

bribrius PlowSite.com Addict

check with plowmeister. from what i see he has some time in his setup and seems to know his sh*t.

:nod:

4. dingo151

dingo151 Junior Member
    from Idaho

Plowmeister.....any suggestions

5. tls22

tls22 PlowSite Veteran

That jeep is going to be great for driveways, prob the best vehicle to use for driveways! Good luck!

6. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

You have an excellent driveway machine there