1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

crazy???

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Stowe, Aug 27, 2010.

1. Stowe

Stowe Member

I'm a project manager/estimator for
    a good size union excavation company.
    I'm tinking of starting a snow removal business.
    I have the oppurtunity to bid on five supermarket
    Ancored sized lots. My concerns are balancing work,
    Getting people to do the work and getting equipment
    If I can't rent it from my employer what
    Do you think. Would this be crazy?

2. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

Not knocking the idea, but if your renting from your employer, will he have to have his operators running the equipment? If so, it's gonna be tough to be competitive paying union wages to bid 5 lots.

3. csi.northcoast

csi.northcoast Senior Member

not to mention the insurance, etc etc,, starting off with five good size accounts might be biting off more than you can chew so be very careful

4. plowatnight

plowatnight Senior Member
    from Mn

Crazy

Seems like a lot to bite off for your first time out of the box. May want to think of partnering up either with the company you work with or someone with the experience to make the wheels turn. Good luck.

5. Brant'sLawnCare

Brant'sLawnCare PlowSite.com Addict