1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Couple quick questions

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Lynden-Jeff, May 24, 2006.

1. Lynden-Jeff

Lynden-Jeff PlowSite.com Addict

Hi,

I am new to the plowing and landscaping business and im doing some research for the winter. Its a little late for landscaping but Im going to make a go of it and advertise my snow removal services as well.

The questions I have are related to the actual times of plow and the amounts. When do you guys go and do your clients? After 100% of the snow has fallen or during? If we are expecting alot (1-2 FT) do you plow during and after the storm? Does this count as 1 plow or 2 if you have to do it twice? Also what is the minimum you will go out for? Is there a minimum or is it something you setup with the client? I am using a GMC 1500 4 X 4 with either a light weight blizzard blade or a 7'6" Boss plow. Main customers im going to focus on are appartment buildings and commercial accounts.

Thanks a bunch!

Jeff

2. DeereFarmer

DeereFarmer PlowSite Veteran

If I were you doing commercial accounts with that light of a truck, I would set up some sort of trigger with the customer. Say like every 4" you plow or something like that. With residentials, some customers want you to do a trigger, some want you to do it when it is all done. I pretty much let them choose, but if it is 8" and still snowing I plow because my truck is also a 1500. Anything more would be pushing it on some driveways. Then if it still snows a bit I plow again and charge them again. You might want to reconsider doing large commercial accounts with a small truck IMO.

3. itsgottobegreen

itsgottobegreen PlowSite.com Addict