1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

couple question

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by theguynextdoor, Sep 24, 2007.

1. theguynextdoor

theguynextdoor Senior Member

Ok I'm new to this...I just got 3 yr old Western Plow (commercial). Is there a float position on this plow for taking it on and off, and what the hell is the float position...i find it a pain in the but to get it back on. Takes me 25 minutes because i can never get teh light bars up high enough to get teh truck-side bracket on. Any tips on getting the plow on and off would be greatly appreciated...especially by my 10 yr old brother who always gets stuck helping me when i need to move it.

Also, i have the shoes for blacktop...will the blade really rip up the blacktop and with the shoes on, it wont get right down to the cement for a nice clean scrape? Is this true ?

Thanks for the info guys for a nembie.

2. Dakotaplowboy

Dakotaplowboy Member

I have a Western Pro, Do you have the Ultra Mount, or Uni-mount. If it is only a 3 yr old plow it should be Ultra mount. Maybe you can try shortening the chains. That will bring the head gear straighter up. When you disconnect the plow do you push the shoes down to the ground before backing off? As for the shoes on the plow, unless you are plowing on dirt, you do not need them. Your plow will not tear up the asphalt. I plow one old lot with old asphalt that is in bad shape. You might get a piece here and there in that situation, but you would get them with the shoes on too. Hope this helps.

3. theguynextdoor