1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Could This Be A Good Plow Truck?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by VIN, May 15, 2004.

1. VIN

VIN Junior Member

I was checkin out an 82 chev 3/4 ton 4x4 with, I was told a 350, and a four speed manual trans, which I think is a sm465. How do I figure out if the t-case is a 205 or a 208? How do I figure out the front and rear difs as well as the ratio? I'm new to the mechanical aspect of drivetrains and gears and all that. Absolutely any advice would be appreciated. PS The guy wants $2000 and it comes with a canopy, decent tires, the a/c is torn out 90,000 origional kms (@50-55,000miles) and 'very' little rust. Did I mention $2000 CANADIAN!!
  2. wfd44

wfd44 Senior Member
    from Maine

I think an '82 3/4 ton should have a 205 transfer. The 208 case was used in all with auto front hubs. So, if it has auto hubs it has a 208 case. But , if it has manual hubs they could have (probably were if it had autos) been changed at some point. There should be a metal tag on the rear of the t-case that should id it.

Definitely a 465 trans if it has the granny gear in low.

Axle ratios - there should be a code on the rear axle tube (right I think) that will have a code which a Chevy dealer should be able to translate. Also on the sticker in the glovebox is a list of option codes. Look for G options (G80 = positraction) GT? or GU? should be the axle ratio. Again a dealer should be able to translate.

An '82 chevy 3/4 ton with a 350 and SM465 should make an excellent plow truck.

Good Luck
  3. ratplow408

ratplow408 Member
    from PA