1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Corrosiveness of Magic Salt

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by dzines, Nov 1, 2004.

1. dzines

dzines Junior Member

I live about 45 minutes away from 90% of my winter worksites, which all will require de-icing for the first time this year. I am new to this end of the market. I have the idea that I plan to purchase an old farm hopper wagon with a good running gear under it and load and store salt on it with a tarp over it. I have an old hydraulic auger that will mount under the door of the wagon. I plan to just leave the wagon on site through the winter and fill it as needed. I'm trying to prevent having to leave a loader of some sort onsite all the time. Will salt or magic salt be harder on the steel and the auger. If I keep everything dry will I have problems with this idea. Would it be better for me to just get bulk road salt and spray Magic liquid on the salt when it goes through the auger when I'm loading. A little help please.
    Thanks

2. dzines

dzines Junior Member

I'm still trying to decide what way to go on type of spreader to get. I've been looking for used SS V-boxes, but they are pretty hard to come by. I thought I had a Snow-ex 8000 bought on ebay last week, but I lost. So now I'm back to square one. Don't even know if I need more than a tailgate spreader. I currently have one really big Super Target, 2 little strip malls, and a condo community. But, I hope to keep getting more!!!

Undecided

3. plowed

plowed Senior Member