1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Conventional

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by mezz2006, Nov 6, 2009.

1. mezz2006

mezz2006 Junior Member

Hi all, I am new to the plowing thing. I just picked up an older 6 1/2' cable operated western plow. It came with everything but the mount and pump frame. I am going to be mounting it on my 2000 Dodge Dakota.

I was doing some thinking and looking at pictures and am thinking I might be able to make this into a "UniMount" even though it isn't a unimount plow. I figure since I have to build a truck mount for it anyways why not design it so I can mount and remove the plow and lights without having to deal with removing and installing the bumper everytime.
    Will it work?

Thanks.

2. Crash935

Crash935 2000 Club Member

All depends on how good your are with a welder and torch! And without any design pics or ideas its hard to say.

Oh yeah, how you going to deal with those lovely cabels to the pump every time?

Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  3. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

I wish you the best of luck getting those cables routed from the pump to the joystick too.

Bottom line, while anything is possible...everything is not always a wise idea.

4. mezz2006

mezz2006 Junior Member

Thanks for the replies.

I am not looking to pull the pump off all the time, what I want to do is make it so that the mount comes up in front of the Bumper and set up the same or similar to the Unimounts.