1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Controller

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by snowtime, Sep 19, 2005.

1. snowtime

snowtime Junior Member
    from Ohio

I'm looking at fixing up an old plow, and old Meyer ?? something. I've got what looks like a Monarch controller.

I've been poking around plowsite and the mfg websites. This controller has no "hold" position, i.e. its either lift or float, I can't lock it in position.

Should I care? Is that a gimmick or would I actually use it? I've never used it before (never even thought about it).

Any comments?

2. justme-

justme- 2000 Club Member

well, when you stop "lifting" it should stay at that height- I have never seen a plow setup without that- there is no specific "hold" feature on any blade- they all automatically hold their height from what I have seen.

3. snowtime

snowtime Junior Member
    from Ohio

Sorry, you're right, I've got it backwards.

I don't have the "float" feature, i.e. it will stay at the height I pick. Some have a latching relay that keep it in "lower" mode until you reset it.

4. Eyesell

Eyesell 2000 Club Member

When I'm plowing mine is always in float, most all of my lots have those dreadful speed bumps :realmad: plow goes over them nicely at slower speeds :nod:

5. mikes plowing

mikes plowing Member
    from cent pa

Are you talking abought the 3 switch set up for the meyer? If so when you push the switch for it to lower it should stay down that is the float.

6. Eyesell

Eyesell 2000 Club Member