1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

contracts

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by j.kelley, Jul 1, 2002.

1. j.kelley

j.kelley Junior Member

I am curious to know, when any of you guys contact or meet with companies, or property owners about snow removal? I have been doing snow removal for two years, and I was thinking about contacting clients and perspective clients now. Is it still to early, or are they already thinking about winter? Thanks alot for any help.

Strive for Excellance
    :drinkup:

2. CT18fireman

CT18fireman Banned

Sometimes they will come to you. If not approach a business and politely say that you would like to bid on the service. I make it a point never to bad mouth another contractor or comment on their service. Just give them your bid and a description of what you can offer.

3. Lawn Lad

Lawn Lad Senior Member

You can sell snow year 'round. At the end of the season is a great time to sell renewals and long term contracts. Beginning your calls and contacts in the summer puts your name in front of them early, even if they don't make their decision until September or October.

4. Temco

Temco Member

I did a friendly canvassing of a large industrial park recently informing property managers and such of my interest to do contract plowing this winter. All were very friendly and interested in what I had to offer but most told me they don't start accepting bids until September and encouraged me to put one in. But as was stated above, its never to early to sell snow :)

5. j.kelley

j.kelley Junior Member

Thanks for the info. I will put it to good use right away.

Strive For Excellance

6. PINEISLAND1

PINEISLAND1 PlowSite.com Veteran