1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

!!!!!!!!!!! Contracting troubles !!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by tigertownman, Nov 12, 2010.

1. tigertownman

tigertownman Junior Member

Im heading into my second snow season as a business owner . I have been plowing for about 10 years i would say for other companies and work done in high school. So far this year I have 1 contract , and a few residential properties , real small residential properties. Last year I ventured down that ohh so bitter sweet road with BIG managament companies. And well i got paid very good , but just had to wait for my money . Well this year I planned on not going with them at all , so i put in bids at 40 to 50 local companies for snow and ice management , I got 1 gas station that is about 30 min from the shop. I dont know if my estimating is way off , or what . But i just dont see with the prices i gave , how can someone do it cheaper and still make money. Help me what am i doing wrong , or is it just the way it is , I seen alot of the same with my lawn maintenance estimates . And to top it off , I got an email yesterday saying that the BIG management company i was going to go with as a backup plan , they have already got their contracts done .... My last hope is I have numerous lawn maintenance accounts with BRICKMAN'S . and So far they have been a very good company to work with , very good. I have a possibilty of getting all the banks i maintain in the summer for snow removal , I really just need help with good estimating so im not in this mess at the beginning of each season.

2. Mick76

Mick76 2000 Club Member
    from Maine