1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Concrete and salt

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by ktfbgb, Sep 18, 2016.

1. ktfbgb

ktfbgb Senior Member

Ok not trying to start a fight here, and moderators if this is the wrong section to put this in go ahead and move it. An older thread below mine reguarding non payment for plowing because of some concrete problems that were unrelated to the snow removal sparked me wanting to post this thread. I am by no means a concrete expert. One of the services my company offers is concrete installation which is subbed out if it's a larger project, and concrete resurfacing which we have had really good success with so far. Non of my questions pertain to roads, highways, industrial jobs etc. I only deal with residential work as my license is residential and not dual for commercial etc. I have done a lot of research on my own, I have learned from pros in the industry here as well. I want to put down my understanding on the subject and see if I am missing anything, or am completely wrong, or whatever input you may have. I sell these services to my customers and give them advice that I believe to be the best and always want to learn more and make sure I am giving the best advice. I want my products to last well beyond the warranty period and I charge a premium for my services. Below is my understanding of concrete.

1. All concrete will crack eventually. It's just what it does. The prep that is done before hand on the sub base, base, drainage etc. will determine how soon it does. Up here for most residential drives, patios, and walks we have gotten away from rebar and recommend using fiber instead. Again this is residential on grade stuff.