1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Concidering on expanding

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by jerk117, Mar 7, 2010.

1. jerk117

jerk117 Junior Member

I have been plowing for the last 4 years on my own. I want to expand and start a business with a couple of buddies plowing for me. Im gonna be in charge of getting the accounts. But i need to no if i do expand do i need to get seprate insurence on them? I currentley have 20 accounts on my own and have to turn people away because i cant get to them. I am in ny and dont know what i need to do.
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

you need enough for yourself and enough to cover yourself if they do something wrong. Make sure they have their own also. Working with friends is tough. I would interview them as though you didn't know them,they may take advantage of you so just watch your back.
  3. jerk117

jerk117 Junior Member

i have plowed with these two for the last 2 years but see what were gonna do is i get the accounts and the accounts will pay me then i pay them. but i just need to no about the whole insurence thats what has me stumped.
  4. grandview

Best advice call an insurance broker first. I assume you have all your business all set before you start getting contracts.
  5. jerk117

jerk117 Junior Member

im gonna i just need to no what kind of insurance i need. but then from there ill be all set
  6. grandview

Do you do landscaping to? If not just plowing insurance is very expensive
  7. jerk117

jerk117 Junior Member

just plowing but i need to no if i have to cover all three trucks and the drivers or just one insurance on the company
  8. grandview