1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Complete newbie to melting ice....have several commercial places that are wanting it

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by BrokenMRanch, Nov 21, 2008.

1. BrokenMRanch

BrokenMRanch Junior Member

I am a complete newbie when it comes to using de-icers on commercial parking lots. In our town only the highway department and hospital have de-icing units. I push snow for about 30 commercial accounts including a WalMart, Dillons, and Bosselmans, which after the past years icy weather have expressed interest in having some sort of de-icer included in their snow management program.

I have been searching the site for what is the best/cheapest/most effective way to handle ice removal and have not really come across any good answers that fit my needs. I realize that best/fast/cheap are generally not all found in the same product.

I am open to any type of ice removal, as I currently have no equiptment for either a brine or salt or ???. If some of you that have used different methods could advise me on, that would be great! Pros/Cons of different methods. I am leaning toward a brine right now but not sure if that would be the best.

Also, is there a product that won't kill grass? And if not, how do you handle snow/slush that has been treated to avoid killing the grass and trees and all things green.

Many, many thanks in advance for any help....I will continue reading these great thread on this forum to try and limit my stupid questions. Thanks again.

2. Mean4x4

Mean4x4 Senior Member
    from Livonia

a quick answer