1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Complete Newbie Needing Some Advice

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by dvl_987, Nov 13, 2010.

1. dvl_987

dvl_987 Junior Member
    from Canada

I have a 07 Classic Style GMC Sierria 1500, Im looking at picking up a used winter wolf plow to plow my country driveway, and a few other drive ways.

Im wondering what i would need to do to the truck to make sure its ready for the task ahead.

Im pretty sure the plow is a 7 foot blade. With a winch to raise and lower the blade.

Sorry for being so vague, im new at the whole plow scene.

2. Mr. Horsepower

Mr. Horsepower Member

"Winch to raise and lower the blade"

Is the plow not hydraulic lift and tilt? I'd stay away from anything that was not.
    Other than that, make sure the mechanicals of the vehicle are all in good condition, brakes, belts, hoses, and all front end components.

BTW check the brake and hydraulic hard and flexible lines carefully. In our area they use liquid calcium chloride on the roads, and it is absolutely brutal on vehicle undercarriages. 2 years ago I had to replace rear spring shackles and last year both the brake and power steering hard lines failed - all due to corrosion and of course all failures during a storm. This was on a 52,000 mi vehicle, never had these kind of issues before the Town started using the LCC. :mad:

3. KMBertog

KMBertog PlowSite.com Addict

If it's on a winch I would steer clear.

Keith

4. whiteowl

whiteowl Junior Member

Winter Wolf plow w/electric winch

I have owned a Winterwolf (Built by Snowbear) for about10 seasons now. I use it on my