1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Complete Newbie buying truck today help!

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by unicorn, Jul 5, 2012.

1. unicorn

unicorn Junior Member
    from ct

I have never plowed before and I am looking for advice.

I plan on buying a 1997 Dodge Ram 1500 with an 8 ft plow later this afternoon. I think I am getting it for a good price. I am buying the truck for my other business, in essence the plow is being thrown in for free, or minimal cost. ( I need the truck for my other business.) My other business pretty much dies from December to March, and I have a VERY flexible schedule, even in my busy season.

The seller appears to be an honest guy, and tells me the plow has been used for only 1 year. He tells me has had work performed on the truck to make it closer to Ram 3500, with respect to suspension, etc. (I haven;t seen the truck yet) I don't know if this is possible, or just a story. I am not qualified to determine this on my own. The price of the truck is the ace up my sleeve, if you will. (It is going for less than $3,000,everything included.)

I have always wanted to do some plowing, whether residential or commercial. I don't mind snow or the cold. I love using my snow blower, and always have since I bought in 10 years ago. (Even in the winter before last where we got 120 inches, the most on record in CT.) No one has to beg me to go clear snow out of the driveway. Here's my question: