1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Commercial Plowing and Salting

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by DJs Lawncare, Sep 17, 2003.

1. DJs Lawncare

DJs Lawncare Member

I am just getting into the bigger commercial plowing. I am trying to bid on a place that is about 167,000 square feet. They require plowing every 1" or more plus salting. Does anybody have any idea how to go about bidding on this. All the other bids I have ever done are 2" or more commercial and 3" or more for residential. I am at a loss with this. Also plowing with an 8' blade I am guessing it to take about 4-5 hours to plow. If anybody could give me some ideas/help, I would greatly appreciate it.
  2. Pelican

Pelican 2000 Club Member

Welcome to Plowsite!:drinkup:

I don't mean to discourage you on your first post, but if you are taking on a job that big, you're going to need more equipment. In a major storm, you'll never keep up, and your area sure is prone to major storms!
  3. Chief Plow

Chief Plow Senior Member

Not to be negative, but i agree with pelican, last year here we had 2 storms 8 days apart 2 feet each. That would be next to impossible to keep clear, look into a backhoe with a box blade or something along that lines. Just my 2 cents

4. Pickering snow removal

Pickering snow removal Senior Member