1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Commercial Lot

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by snoluvr, Aug 18, 2004.

1. snoluvr

snoluvr Senior Member
    from RI

I have been plowing for a few years now, and have run into something new. A commercial lot I am trying to get is 165,000 square feet. The property owner wants a bid on standard 1-4, 5-7, 8-11. they want the price to include plowing, sanding, shoveling walks, and salting walks. Any ideas on how to come up with a price without sounding too high, but not losing money? I appreciate any ideas.

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Just change your thinking - don't worry about sounding too high. Break your bid into those four areas (that's how you're going to work it up, anyway) and give a separate price that is maybe 10% lower than the total of each combined.

3. 66Construction

66Construction Senior Member

That's good advice.....never change your bid because you think it sounds too high. You know what your market will pay and what it's going to cost you. Figure it up and submit it.....It's better to sit home done early then go broke because you lowballed it.
    Casey

4. snoluvr

snoluvr Senior Member
    from RI

thanks for the info. I thought I had come up with a good price. I am figuring on $450-sand, 75 shovel and rock salt wlaks, and 1500 for plowing..Now I find out the last guy that had it was bringing in over 3800 per storm for a 1-3! would any of you increase the rate??thanks

5. Mick

from Maine