1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Commercial Lot Bidding Help?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Repo, Dec 7, 2004.

1. Repo

Repo Junior Member
    from Pa

Greetings,

I need some help with bidding a potential commercial customer. My question is how much to charge for a parking lot that is over 23,000 sq. ft.? 19000 of it is a flat, completely paved parking area, with plenty room to push snow to three sides. The balance is the shipping and receiving area, which really poses no difficulties in plowing. This is my first year professionally plowing, and I'm having difficulties coming up with a reasonable amount to charge? Salting will be provided upon the customer's request. But that charge will be seperate. The location is about one mile from my home as well. Please any and all replies to this matter will be greatly appreciated. Thanks for all the great info on this forum! Happy plowing!

1990 Chevy 3500 4X4 454
    Crysteel 10ft. Dump Body
    Boss 9'2" Poly-V Plow

2. DJL

DJL Senior Member

Give us a list of ALL your expenses that would be incurred with this lot. From equipment costs to phone calls. Then provide an estimate of how much time you think it would take with one truck say 7.5-8' blade to plow the lot at 3". Add your expenses up. You need to estimate the total amount of snow storms you would receive this year. Then estimate how many "pushes" will be required for this season. Then add in your desired profit (note this would be before taxes).