1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Commercial bidding.

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Glessing.J.W, Feb 15, 2014.

1. Glessing.J.W

Glessing.J.W Junior Member

Hi there, I'm new to Plow Site. I've been a member for a short while, and have spent numerous hours reading, though doing a general search for something specific provides many pages of different threads, most of which don't answer the questions I have.

I've been doing snow removal for eight years now, for two different companies in the Madison, Wisconsin area. Now I'm researching, and getting ready to put my thoughts into actions. I fully intend on having my own company, and starting with snow removal come snow season of 2014-2015, and either sub-contracting to a larger, more highly established company, or getting my own contracts, consisting of residential, and maybe small commercial.

I use an early 90's 1500, with a beat up Western 8' for work now. The 1500 works great, though we haven't had accumulation over eight inches yet this season. I plan on buying roughly the same truck, early to late 90's 1500 unless I can afford either newer, or larger by that time. Along with a used SnowDogg HD75, and maybe a SaltDogg TGS03.

My question is, how do you price commercial lots, do you figure the square footage, and base it off that? I noticed some posts mentioned charging an hourly rate by acres. How long should it take to plow an acre, and how do you factor in the hourly rate?

If you have any suggestions on a different plow, or salter, feel free to throw them out. Keep in mind it will be a 1500, and I will have as many bags of rock salt, and ice melt in the bed as the truck can legally handle.