1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Commercial Account help appreciated.

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by kefala, Aug 2, 2009.

1. kefala

kefala Member

Hey guys,

I'm new to plowsite in terms of posting, but have been lurking, reading, learning. I have a 2009 Ford F-250 with a Western V. My insurance is 185 per month CDN. I am bidding on a large 4 acre property, with no buildings on it gravel base and the customer wants a higher trigger point. This site in located in Toronto, Ontario. My initial assumption is that I can expect to visit his site roughly 15 times per season. Salting is not needed as their will be minimal foot traffic and as I said the gravel base. Any help or words of advice would be greatly appreciated. Really looking for what to charge and roughly how long you think it would take me to plow that location. If you need any additional info just let me know.

Thanks in advance.

John

2. Bajak

Bajak Senior Member

Gravel base with a pick up and plow? I think you need to consider how much you can afford on down time with the damage to your truck and plow unless you get lucky and all the gravel is frozen. If it is graded in October or November then I might consider using a P/U to plow it but 9 times out of 10 it is not worth the hassle. The higher trigger may be a bonus if it becomes compacted snow on the gravel but my initial assumption is that the customer mainly needs a standby type contract. What is the lot used for? Trailer storage or transfer? Most of my experience is that these gravel lots of 2+ acres are for temp parking or storage.