1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

College Student Just Starting Out...Need Help!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by THE MENACE, Jun 26, 2012.

1. THE MENACE

THE MENACE Junior Member

Howdy,

I have read a lot of great info on your site but was hoping for some guidance on my specific situation. I am a college student right now and am thinking of bringing in (or at least attempting to) bring in some extra cash this winter for school. I live in a small, very small town with a few subdivisions of middle class standing and a few lower class ones.

How could I go about starting something like this with a lower investment? I already have a half ton 07 silverado but I do not want to use that for work stuff (especially plowing and salting), but could trailer some snow blowers or atvs with plows on it. I do have a 91 half ton silverado manual trans, 4wd does not work but hi/lo range does. Seems to have been a plow truck in the past. Could I possibly plow with that? It is in rougher shape.

What prices should I charge for resi customers? Monthly fees or charge each time I remove snow? I have a 'sub' as you call them already, someone who can do this with me.

Just not sure how to approach this...

Thanks in advance, your advice is greatly needed and appreciated.

Alex

2. blazer2plower

blazer2plower Senior Member