1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Code 3 Light Problem

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by Jaysled, Feb 12, 2012.

1. Jaysled

Jaysled Member

I have this Code 3 Mini light bar http://www.code3pse.com/products/product_info/Warn/Mini_Bars/H_420RTR when I have been using it lately the cigarette lighter connector has been getting extremely hot. It will heat up like this only having it on for 3 minutes or so. What do you think could be causing it? This is my third season with the light and I purchased it new.

Thanks,

2. jhall22guitar

jhall22guitar PlowSite.com Addict

In all honesty, I have no experience with electrical anything. After reading threads on here however, I have seen others with problems like this. People had said to check the entire wire for wear and to make sure that the wire isnt exposed.

3. USMCMP5811

USMCMP5811 Senior Member

It's getting hot because it's pulling to many amps. Time to hard wire it.

4. RBRONKEMA GHTFD

RBRONKEMA GHTFD 2000 Club Member

I would hardwire it. Hook it up to a switch with a relay. You can put a quick disconnect on the wires so you can leave the wiring on the truck year around and just take the light off when you don't need it.

5. RBRONKEMA GHTFD

RBRONKEMA GHTFD 2000 Club Member

I would hardwire it. Hook it up to a switch with a relay. You can put a quick disconnect on the wires so you can leave the wiring on the truck year around and just take the light off when you don't need it.

6. Too Stroked

Too Stroked Senior Member