1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Clearing on Christmas Day???

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Kidder, Dec 23, 2009.

1. Kidder

Kidder Junior Member

First off I want to wish all fellow plowers a merry christmas and to have a great 2010. I have one question and was hoping you guys could help me out. This is my first year having a Bobcat and 5 commercial contracts and where I live we are expected to get about 12 cm or 5 inches of snow finishing sometime near late christmas eve or christmas day. What is the policy that you guys use and what should I charge if I do go out on christmas day. I charge $75 per hour for the Bobcat. Thought and opinions please.

2. Longae29

Longae29 PlowSite.com Addict

You can't upcharge just because its a holiday. If you are 100% sure they aren't open on christmas you could make a few passes for access, spend time with your family, and then make sure they are done by saturday morning. Merry Christmas to you too!

3. baslertrucking

baslertrucking Junior Member

of course all my lots are goverment buildings, and we too are expecting a snow.. and it would be our first push... but with snow on christmas eve and the buildings beings closed on saturday and sunday... looks likes ill miss out again

4. redman6565

redman6565 PlowSite.com Addict

christmas and new years are treated like any other day. its part of the job. all good snow contractors are 24/7 company, through the holidays.

5. Westhardt Corp.

Westhardt Corp. Senior Member