1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Clarification on large lots.

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by twfraz, Oct 21, 2014.

1. twfraz

twfraz Junior Member

I have been sub'd to help do a big box store lot. I have been doing roads and driveways for a couple years now. I found a post from 04 that talked about radius plowing. I liked the idea of less wear and tear and backing.

Around the building I got...clear out docks and close up then just keep going around pushing snow to outside. The main lot is were I need clearing up... From what I gather you would plow across the top wind rowing towards middle then raise blade, go to bottom and drop again coming back across.

I have a 8' Western (I am on my own till the other accounts get finished). There is a 2" trigger and I am not sure yet if I can stack at the light poles. I would plan on cleaning out from in front of merchandise on edges too. I'm sorry if I have missed my answer somewhere else. The lot is about 5 acres.

LOT.jpg

Last edited: Oct 21, 2014
  2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Radius or circular plowing in theory does work but it will only work to a point. I had plowed a large lot like that when I was in a hurry. It did make a mess tho. Final clean ups I would just back up.
    On like 2" snows I'd do that.
    But I was only putting snow at one end to.
    I also HIGHLY doubt you can put anything by the poles

Last edited: Oct 21, 2014
  3. gc3

gc3 Senior Member