1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

City Plowing Speed

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Meatplow, Nov 11, 2009.

1. Meatplow

Meatplow Junior Member

Hey all,

I was wondering what the most appropriate rate of speed would be to plow snow on the city streets?

Maybe a speed also I should not go above/below while plowing.

I am very new to this and wanted some idea of a heads up so folks don't see me tearing up the streets at like 30 mph, hah.

Thanks in advance.
  2. fatboyNJ

fatboyNJ Senior Member
    from NJ

i dont have as much experience and many ppl here but have about 8 years on our local road dept driving a single axle cdl dump during the winter....
    i think that conditions have alot to do with this...here we dont get as much snow as you would but from my time here it seems for me on my more main streets im prob around 20mph maybe a tad more...on our side streets which are all residentials im prob around 15 or so...of course then i have a street where i can actually get up to about 40-45...

from my own experince seems it would be about half the speed of what u would usually drive in normal condititons
  3. JR Snow Removal

JR Snow Removal Senior Member

around here they accelerate until the next light or stop sign haha I've seen them do about 55-60 no joke i couldn't believe how high the snow was flying looked like a massive snow blower from a distance
  4. Young Pup

Young Pup PlowSite Fanatic

Are you contracted by the city to plow city streets? Or do you work for the city? Just curious as to why you ask?
  5. quigleysiding

quigleysiding PlowSite.com Addict